Favourite looks, my year in review & Link-Up

As with many bloggers at this time of year, I’ve decided to take a short holiday away from the blog, so this will be the last Neverending Style Link-Up of 2021. I will, however, be sharing the Fab40s post on Monday 27th December (a day after my 46th birthday!) so I hope you’ll stop by then. As for the last link-up of this year, I figured I would share some of my favourite looks from the past twelve months, as well as my year in review…

The first major thing that happened this year was the creation of The Grey Brunette back in January. I’d been blogging since 2008 in various different formats but I decided I should split my writing blog (I’m an author in case you didn’t know!) from my lifestyle / style blog, so The Grey Brunette was born. The toughest part has been trying to gain a following on my social media accounts. I’ve tried Youtube, Instagram, Pinterest, Facebook and even TikTok but it ain’t easy! I gave up on my Pinterest account and just reverted back to my Suzy Turner account which seems to work ok anyway. As for YouTube, I just feel a bit daft making videos of me prancing about in my outfits so I haven’t posted on there for a while lol. Same with Tiktok. Although I occasionally post on my Insta account, I must admit to being fed up of being inundated by random weirdo blokes following me. If you have any ideas of how to counteract that, I would be very grateful!

Another event that got me all excited this year was the purchase of my rather professional camera, a Nikon D850 which is just AWESOME! I love it. During the summer, I did a few photoshoots with my friend’s daughter (who looks like a blooming supermodel, so she kind of made it easy lol!), but I haven’t had many opportunities since then, considering she had to return to school. I’m hoping to start getting out and about a bit more next year because I’ll have a new car by then, but I’ll tell you all about that early in 2022!

The photography then led me to start designing book covers for authors (Covers by Suzy). Again, I’m not going to lie. It’s been incredibly difficult trying to find clients so they have been few and far between. But I’m not letting it stop me. I shall continue to create them and continue to learn how to improve my skills. Because I love the creation process. Speaking of the creation process—more recently, I have started yet another venture which I’ve mentioned in my last two posts, Designed by Suze, an Etsy shop selling printable wall art and greetings cards. I am absolutely LOVING this and am excited to see where it takes me next with my creativity.

As for the Grey Brunette, even though I haven’t had much time lately to take many style photos, I’ve had a ball coming up with outfits to share with you over the past year. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed taking part in the Fab40s and Style Imitating Art challenges, for example. I love being a part of these groups and I would certainly love to join more! So do let me know if you have any vacancies lol! Here are some of my favourite outfits from this year…

I hope you’ve enjoyed my year in review post. So, until the Fab40s post a week on Monday, that’s all folks! Well, almost…there’s still the last Neverending Style Link-up of 2021, so I hope you’ll join in the fun! In the meantime, have the most FABULOUS Christmas (and if you need any last minute Christmas cards, check out my printable ones on Etsy – they come with a free ECARD too)! Huge hugs from me xxx

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter
Follow:
Share:

36 Comments

  1. December 17, 2021 / 8:15 am

    I’ve watched your photography flourish through the year Suzy. Have the best Christmas xx

    • Suzy
      Author
      December 20, 2021 / 2:06 pm

      Thank you so much, Laurie! I hope your Christmas is amazing too!
      Hugs
      Suzy xx

  2. December 17, 2021 / 12:34 pm

    You are such a fashionista. I love your style.

    • Suzy
      Author
      December 20, 2021 / 2:07 pm

      LOL that’s such a lovely thing to say, Amy! Thank you so much! Merry Christmas!
      Suzy xx

  3. December 17, 2021 / 1:20 pm

    Marvelous looks! I really like them all and this gives me an idea for a post in January! I need to take some time and sit down with a calendar and plan out some posts. I’ve really enjoyed your blog this year and looking forward to 2022.
    http://www.chezmireillefashiontravelmom.com

    • Suzy
      Author
      December 20, 2021 / 2:07 pm

      Thank you so much, Mireille! I shall look forward to reading your post. Merry Christmas!
      Suzy xx

  4. December 17, 2021 / 1:44 pm

    Looks like a it’s been a great year! Can’t wait to see more. Enjoy your break 🙂

    • Suzy
      Author
      December 20, 2021 / 2:07 pm

      Thank you so much, Alexandra! Merry Christmas!
      Suzy xx

  5. December 17, 2021 / 4:00 pm

    Hello Suzy and Happy Friday! I love so much the photo from this post where you are wearing a graphic t-shirt – you totally rock that look!

    Wish you a lovely Holliday Season and thank you for hosting!

    • Suzy
      Author
      December 20, 2021 / 2:08 pm

      Thank you so much, Sinziana! You’re very kind. Merry Christmas!
      Suzy xx

  6. December 17, 2021 / 4:13 pm

    I’ve been enjoying your Grey Brunette blog, Suzy! I love that you shared your outfits for the year. It really gives a picture of your overall personal style. When you return to blogging, I’d like to invite you to link up to Link-up Potpourri on my blog, My Bijou Life ( https://mybijoulifeonline.com ). And it’s exactly what the name says. You would be welcome to link up from both your lifestyle and writing blog. The link-up occurs on Mondays. In the meantime gave a wonderful holiday.

    Michelle
    https://mybijoulifeonline.com

    • Suzy
      Author
      December 20, 2021 / 2:08 pm

      Thank you so much, Michelle! I will definitely link up with you. Merry Christmas!
      Suzy xx

  7. December 17, 2021 / 4:29 pm

    Hi Suzy!
    I wish you the best in your photography, cards and blog of course! I could not be without creative endeavors. I am hoping to do more with my music in the new year and teach some students too. That’s always the tricky part getting clients/students. I loved the outfits! Of course the mary poppins picture is awesome! Your new camera is great! I think hubby wants a new one eventually. I love that black sexy look, the first picture there with the sheer top. Wishing you a Blessed Christmas and New Year!
    jess xx
    http://www.elegantlydressedandstylish.com

    • Suzy
      Author
      December 20, 2021 / 2:09 pm

      Thank you so much, Jess! You’re so kind! I loved that all black look too. Merry Christmas!
      Suzy xx

  8. December 17, 2021 / 4:36 pm

    You’ve had a busy year, lots of creative endeavours! I love your enthusiasm. Cool selection of outfits too – you’re building quite a photography portfolio! Have a great weekend and of course a fantastic time over the festive season!

    • Suzy
      Author
      December 20, 2021 / 2:09 pm

      Thank you so much, Gail! Merry Christmas!
      Suzy xx

  9. December 17, 2021 / 4:41 pm

    Suzy, you have so many great outfits from this year! My favorites are definitely your Air one for Fab 40s and the Booky one for SIA! And you really have done a lot of wonderful things this year! I can’t wait to see where it all takes you next year. I will be following along and cheering for you as always! I hope you have a blessed holiday season, my friend!

    Shelbee

    • Suzy
      Author
      December 20, 2021 / 2:10 pm

      Awww Thank you so much, Shelbee! I loved those two looks as well. Merry Christmas, my friend!
      Hugs,
      Suzy xx

  10. December 17, 2021 / 10:45 pm

    congrats on the etsy shop start up! I have shop on there where I used to sell my sewing designs..but it was too much to keep up with…

    Merry Christmas
    Valerie
    http://www.mapleleopard.com

    • Suzy
      Author
      December 20, 2021 / 2:10 pm

      Thank you so much, Valerie! I can imagine it must have been hard work producing your own sewing designs.
      Merry Christmas!
      Suzy xx

  11. December 18, 2021 / 9:07 am

    You’ve worn some lovely outfits and I like the pink tulle one best. Have a great Christmas!

    • Suzy
      Author
      December 20, 2021 / 2:11 pm

      Thank you so much, Penny! That look is a particular favourite of mine too. Merry Christmas!
      Suzy xx

    • Suzy
      Author
      December 20, 2021 / 2:11 pm

      Thank you so much, Kathrine! Merry Christmas!
      Suzy xx

  12. December 18, 2021 / 1:35 pm

    Pretty good year for you! And beautiful photos! I wish you a fantastic Christmas!

    • Suzy
      Author
      December 20, 2021 / 2:11 pm

      Thank you so much, Nancy! Merry Christmas!
      Suzy xx

  13. December 19, 2021 / 4:01 am

    Suzy, I didn’t know you had just started this blog this year! I will definitely have to check out your other blog. And, I haven’t forgotten your Etsy shop, either! I love these looks! You are just so doggone photogenic! I wish I had that gift. I hope you enjoy your time off.

    Happy Holidays to you! And, thanks for the link up!

    https://marshainthemiddle.com

    • Suzy
      Author
      December 20, 2021 / 2:12 pm

      Thank you so much, Marsha! You’re so kind. Merry Christmas, lovely!
      Suzy xx

  14. December 19, 2021 / 5:10 am

    What an amazing year! You have accomplished so much! Loving seeing your outfit recap!

    Jill – Doused in Pink

    • Suzy
      Author
      December 20, 2021 / 2:12 pm

      Thank you so much, Jill! Merry Christmas!
      Suzy xx

  15. December 21, 2021 / 9:55 pm

    So many cute looks and great photos! I will definitely look into that new camera you got… seems like it takes great photos. And I totally feel you about social media! It is so much work and I don’t even know if it’s worth it. Happy (early) new year!

    Miles of smiles,
    Grace

    gracefulrags.com

  16. December 22, 2021 / 2:30 am

    It’s amazing how a good camera can change the game! I have enjoyed seeing all your cute looks over the past year- and I hope you have a lovely break!

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

  17. December 23, 2021 / 6:42 pm

    Suzy, looks like I missed the party but I’m glad that I didn’t miss this post. It’s so nice having yours among the blogs I follow as I find your posts charming and I’ve enjoyed watching your photography skills grow. I hope that you have a wonderful holiday (and birthday) celebration.

    Rena
    http://www.finewhateverblog.com

  18. December 23, 2021 / 9:49 pm

    Such a nice way to look back on a stylish year! It’s a shame you haven’t loved everything you’ve tried for the blog but good you are finding lots of creative endeavours you do enjoy instead! 🙂

    Hope that you have a wonderful Christmas 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.